yorkshiritos

a friend posted this little number on my wall in that face place the other day:

I’d put some off-hand, non-committal consideration into making a Yorkshire pud wrap in the past, but this was like a challenge. so, fiiiiiiiine. challenge accepted. I’d put it on my list of things to make at the weekend and started ticking through the process before it got one Like.

it didn’t occur to me to have a look at the recipes of others who had successfully pulled this off until I was well into making the wraps, so basically about 75% done creating the meal. a big reason for that was that I didn’t like the look of the wraps’ texture in the original image. I wanted a Yorkshire wrap that looked at tasted like Yorkshire pudding as I know it, which is to say: the best, but that could hold up to being stuffed and dipped.

when I *did* look to the google, it was because I started freaking out because my first wrap looked like this:

IMG_8455
yes, my oven is in desperate need of cleaning.

which is to say, quite a lot puffier and crispier than I’d imagined according to the sciencing I had done in my brain.

things we really want in a Yorkshire pudding, but I was doubting its integrity as a wrap.

all of google’s advice was “add more flour” and “use a rectangular pan”. I’d already added more flour and wasn’t willing to add more lest it compromise the texture and, while I can understand the use of a rectangular pan, I really wanted these to be self-contained.

I sat and calmed down a bit, flipped my wrap and carried on as planned in my head. I’m really glad I did, because what I ended up with, after I let the wraps sit and calm down a bit, was exactly what I wanted with the bonus of that lip where the pudding climbed the pan and made for an excellent closure around the meat when all was said and done.

they came out like so:

IMG_8459

and they are really, really, really good.

for the roast

what you need

  • 1 2.5-3 lb pot-style roast (I used an outside round)
  • 2 cups of a cheap cab-sauv/shiraz
  • 2 cups of water
  • 2 yellow cooking onions, sliced
  • 1-1.5 tbsp vegetable oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp dried French tarragon
  • Worcestershire sauce to taste
  • prepared horseradish to taste
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour

what you do

  1. preheat oven to 300.
  2. heat 1 tbsp oil in a dutch oven large enough for the roast over medium-high.
  3. add salt and pepper to the oil.
  4. sear the roast until nicely browned on all sides.
  5. remove the roast and add the onions, coating the bottom of the dutch oven (add more oil, if necessary).
  6. place the roast on top of the onions.
  7. add wine and water in equal amounts until onions liquid reaches about 1/4 of the way up the roast.
  8. sprinkle with tarragon.
  9. add a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce.
  10. lid it and toss it in the oven.
  11. cook approximately 3 hours or until tender.
  12. place roast in a bowl, cover and let sit.
  13. strain the onions from the juices.
  14. add onions to the bowl with the meat and reserve remaining juices.
  15. on the stovetop, heat the butter in the dutch oven over medium-high.
  16. whisk in the flour until browned.
  17. slowly whisk in the reserved juices from the roast and the remaining wine and water.
  18. heat until bubbling, whisking every once in a while. add water to taste.
  19. shred the meat into bite-sized pieces, incorporating the onions as you go.
  20. toss some horseradish and some of the just into the meat to taste.

for the Yorkshire wraps

what you need

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups of milk (I use homogenized)
  • 1.5 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • quite a lot of oil

what you do

  1. while the roast is cooking, place the eggs and the milk on the stovetop to warm them.
  2. about half an hour before the roast is done, whisk the eggs and milk together in a large bowl until just combined.
  3. whisk the salt and flour into the mild and egg mixture until fully combined.
  4. once the roast is out of the oven, heat the oven to 425.
  5. add a good tablespoon or two to the vessel you’re cooking your Yorkshire wraps in, enough to generously coat it and place it in the oven. I used an 8″ frying pan and it was not ideal. see do differently notes below.
  6. once the oil in your vessel is smoking, add enough of the wrap mix to evenly coat the bottom of the vessel. because you’re working with hot oil, the batter will immediately begin to cook (and if it doesn’t, your oil is not hot enough) and not spread. resist the urge to tilt the pan (hot oil, remember?!?!) and just add more batter until it’s evenly coated.
  7. cook for 12-14 minutes (until it doesn’t stick to the bottom) and flip.
  8. cook another 3-4 minutes and set aside on a paper-toweled plate to absorb the grease.
  9. repeat as necessary, making sure there’s enough oil in the vessel and the it gets to smoking before adding more batter, until all of the batter is gone, placing paper towel between each wrap as you stack them when they’re done.
  10. fill the wraps with the meat/jus/onion mixture and serve with a side of jus for dipping.

do differentlies

no kitchen experiment is complete without a list of shoulda/woulda/couldas. here’s mine:

  • buy fucking horseradish. as soon as I saw the pic and started working all of this out in my head, I could just imagine that horseradishy goodness tossed in with the meat. alas, it did not make it from the grocery list in my head to the grocery list on my phone, so it was not purchased and I was some pissed. there’s nothing like that kind of let down at one’s own hands.
  • find different vessels for cooking the wraps. the single 8″ frying pan I used was perfect in many ways, but it was really slow going just cooking four wraps at almost 20 minutes each. they were REALLY big, too. I managed to eat half of a wrap, but the mister ate a whole one plus the half I couldn’t finish. I have one 6 inch tin pie plate and I think finding three more of those would be perfect, or just foregoing that lovely, self-containment idea, lip and all, and using a larger, rectangular vessel.
  • taste test the jus before serving. my just was far too rich for my liking.
  • serve it with a salad rather than a cooked veg. as much as I love steamed broccoli, the dish really needs something crisper and fresher as a complement to it.

overall, it was a fun experiment through which I learned a lot. I’m still going to prefer my traditional roast dinners, if only because I love a good, medium-rare, dry roast with the Yorkshire pudding serving as little gravy/jus delivery vehicles, but I think I’ll employ the wraps as a leftovers solution. one could make a mean roast beef, leafy green, tomato and cheese sandwich with that.

 

Leave a Reply

