pantry-busting egg rolls

I was in need of an onion the other day.

I reached out to neighbours.

I have awesome neighbours. they always either have onions (or whatever the hell else I need) or are about to go to the grocery and can procure me onions (or whatever the hell else I need).

this neighbour had onions and cabbages.

I’m not a big cabbage fan, but I took them.

I put a good portion of one in a soup.

I made these egg rolls with another plus part of a bag of those random fishy bits you can find in the freezer at the grocery store.

hot damn I love those bags of fishy bits.

mmm...greasy good stuffs
mmm…greasy good stuffs

they are really rather good, so I wrote out the recipe.

::warning: this is NOT an instant recipe. it goes together quickly but marinating time IS required so prepare at least 24 hours in advance!!!::

what you need

  • 1 cup of random fishy bits
  • 2 tbsp rice wine
  • 2 tbsp dark soya sauce
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups of shredded cabbage (or finely chopped or whatever – no big chunks)
  • 1 bunch of green onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp garlic-chili sauce (also know as sambal oelek)
  • 1 pkg egg roll wraps (I used Wing’s, which are really quite good, but I think I’ll check out my local Asian grocer’s for a more spring roll type wrap next time)
  • veg or some other high smoke point oil for frying

 

what you do

  1. toss the fishy bits, rice wine, and soya sauce in some kind of receptacle for marinating.
  2. marinate for a good 8 hours. more, if you’re patient.
  3. toss the cabbage and the onion in the chili-garlic sauce.
  4. strain your marinated fishy bits.
  5. sautée the fishy bits over med-high heat.
  6. crack the eggs into the sautéeing fishy bits and stir until the eggs are pretty dry. I understand that that is a very relative statement, but eggs and doneness are relative to feelings about them. I like mine done to the point where they’re indiscernible from packing peanuts, but you do you, k?
  7. remove pan from heat and let cool.
  8. working at a 3:1 cabbagey bits to fishy bits ratio, fill your egg roll wrappers.
  9. roll according to instructions. I’m not going to lie; I rolled according to instructions and mine are more eggvelopes than rolls. I know folks who have this down pat. I am not one of them. take a sip of wine and forgive yourself for eggvelopes and carry on. pat yourself on the back if you’ve achieved rolls.
  10. heat a heavy frying pan with 1/2 of an inch of oil over med-high heat.
  11. once the pan is hot, place your egg rolls in 3 or four at a time. do not overcrowd the pan.
  12. turn your rolls (velopes) when you see the edges beginning to brown.
  13. remove from pan to a paper towel-laden vesicle and continue with the rest.

I know that some folks tend to want a sauce with egg rolls. we’ve been eating them without a sauce, but I’ll try to come up with something in the not-too-distant future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

